1857 General Election

Great Yarmouth

(2 seats)

Independent Liberal gain from Conservative / William Torrens McCullagh Torrens
Radicals gain from Whig / Edward William Watkin
Party Candidate Votes Percent Change
 Independent LiberalTorrens, William Torrens McCullagh60928.1%N/A
 RadicalsWatkin, Edward William59027.2%N/A
 ConservativeLacon, Edmund Henry Knowles52124%N/A
 ConservativeVereker, Charles Smyth45120.8%N/A
Estimated Turnout1,08683%N/A
This seat was unopposed
By-election held due to the election of both McCullagh and Watkins being declared void due to bribery by their agents
Party Candidate Votes Percent Change
 WhigYoung, Adolphus WilliamUnopposed
 WhigMellor, JohnUnopposed
Note: These results are in comparison to the previous General Election
Search for another constituency
© 2018 Election Hub • James Phillips • Images as stated.
admin@electionhub.co.uk | @Election_Hub_
Logo made with DesignEvo